NOMINEES ANNOUNCED: It’s almost time to celebrate Bedford’s Everyday Heroes

BI Awards - BI only

The Bedford Independent, in partnership with The Harpur Trust, is delighted to announce the nominations for the inaugural Bedford Independent Everyday Heroes Awards 2020.

Along with our category sponsors, we have been incredibly proud to read through the amazing things that help show what sets Bedford apart from other areas – its people.

With all that has been happening over the last 12 months, it’s clear that community is vitally important, and Bedford’s individuals, organisations and businesses are a shining example of what can be achieved when people work together for the greater good.

The Bedford Independent Everyday Heroes Awards would not have been possible without the support of our category sponsors, who also gave up their time to help choose the winners.

Special mention must also be made to our venue sponsor The Quarry Theatre at St. Luke’s and our host sponsor Bedford School, who would have provided delicious food and drink at a fantastic venue.

Quarry Theatre
The Quarry Theatre at St. Luke’s

Sadly, due to lockdown restrictions, this has not been possible, but they have continued to add strength to these awards with guidance, advice and technical support.

While we cannot celebrate these awards together, we will still be doing our best to highlight the achievements of all nominees and those who are highly commended, as well as the overall winners, and you can take part too.

On 25 March at 7:30 pm, we’ll broadcast a special award ceremony via our website, Facebook and YouTube, so you can watch along as the winners of the first Bedford Independent Everyday Heroes are announced.

It has been a difficult process choosing the winners, all the nominees are truly deserving of their recognition, and we hope you will join us in celebrating their achievements and thanking them for making Bedford brilliant.

Bedford Independent Everyday Heroes Awards 2020
in partnership with The Harpur Trust

Everyday Heroes Awards 2020
The Bedford Independent Everyday Heroes Awards 2020 in partnership with The Harpur Trust, would not be possible without the support of these fantastic Bedford businesses.

Our 2020 nominees

Volunteer of the Year – sponsored by The Harpur Trust

  • Carol Masini
  • Frank McMahon
  • Friends of Keech
  • Joanne Lambert
  • Jim Robinson
  • Lindsey Cebula
  • Steve Wilson
  • Sue Wildman
  • Susie Spyropoulos

Excellence in Education – Host sponsor Bedford School

  • Natasha Carey
  • Richard Compton
  • Sarah Stott
  • SSG
  • Times Tables Rock Stars
  • Tracy Jakins

Raising the Profile of the Town – Venue sponsor the Quarry Theatre at St. Luke’s

  • Carlton Neita
  • Dawn Terry
  • Eat Feast
  • Mark Draper
  • Mark Harrison
  • Martin Keys
  • Queen’s Park Community Orchard
  • Rachel Atkinson
  • Sam Laycock
  • Sharon De Leonardis
  • Soaring Falcon Accountancy
  • Spectacularts
  • Taste Bedford
  • Tim Pain

Community Business – sponsored by Woodfines Solicitors

  • Bedford Heights
  • Evolve Asset Management
  • Jigsaw Marketing
  • Watton Recruitment

Independent Retailer of the Year – sponsored by Brewpoint

  • Beerfly
  • Boutique Planet
  • Caffe Crema
  • Eagle Travel
  • épanoui
  • Gallone’s
  • Goldings/Tolchards
  • Jacky Guy Hair
  • OM Pharmacy
  • Ready Steady Roll
  • Vintage Thai Spa

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Carlsberg Marston’s Brewing Company

  • Jim Robinson
  • Martin Denny
  • Martin Keys
  • Mohammad Hussain
  • Ryan Devine

Young Achiever – sponsored by Bedford Heights

  • Cheyenne Circuitt
  • Eddie Wilson
  • Elizabeth Bown
  • Heath Clarke
  • Varun Bandi
  • Will Roberts
  • Zayaan Williamson

Fundraiser of the Year – sponsored by The Bedford Swan Hotel

  • Emma Garrett
  • Friends of Keech
  • Heath Clarke
  • Katy Roberts and partner Joe
  • Nikki Horner
  • Paul Kellett

Campaigner of the Year – sponsored by Explore Bedford

  • Anita Powell
  • Helen Patterson
  • Melanie Stratton

Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by White Hart Press

  • Chloe Sanders
  • Ellie Grix
  • Holly Perry
  • Sonne Young
  • Sophie Hood
  • Suraiya Yasmin
  • Toni Wright Brown

COVID Hero (Business/Organisation) – sponsored by the Bedford Independent

  • Access Bedford
  • Dine with Us
  • Macmillan Palliative Care Team, Lead Nurse Claire Creaser
  • Marika at Mario’s Hair Designs
  • Patrick’s Parcels

COVID Hero (Individual) – sponsored by the Bedford Independent

  • Anita Gabrielle
  • Craig Dawson
  • Hannah Fehr
  • Jaswinder Kumar
  • Kim Davis
  • Lucy Felton
  • Millie Clarke
  • Sonya Ford

To find out who has won, tune in on 25 March at 7:30 pm, on our website, Facebook and YouTube.

Now more than ever, we need your help to fund the Bedford Independent’s quality journalism that serves our community...

We choose to champion editorial independence, meaning we report the facts without bias and can stand up to those in power when we believe it’s needed.

We can give a voice to people in our community whose voices may otherwise not be heard. And we don’t have a paywall, so everyone can read the stories we publish for free.

But in this time of crisis, many news organisations all over the world are facing existential threat, with advertising revenues plummeting. We’re no different.

We work hard every day to bring you news, commentary, entertainment and announcements from across Bedford. We hope that, with your help, we’ll be able to continue this for many years to come.

Will you help sustain our work today by clicking below ? Even a small donation makes a difference for our future.

Thank you for your support.