Two changes as Bedford Blues travel away to the Cotswolds

Image: Bedford Blues / Twitter

Bedford Blues are back in action this weekend as they travel to Hartpury looking for consecutive away victories in the English Championship.

The 26-22 victory at Caldy a fortnight ago re-ignited the Blues’ campaign and while Ealing have opened up an expected gap at the top of the table, Mike Rayer’s side are hot on the tails of second-placed, Cornish Pirates.

Read: Bedford Blues hold on to post key win against Caldy

Hartpury will be raring to go after a three week break, and pushed league leaders, Ealing all the way in a 36-20 loss at the beginning of the month, although they did beat both Ampthill and Caldy in January.

Sitting in sixth, the Gloucestershire side are having a mixed season although do boast impressive victories against both Coventry and Nottingham in 2023 already.

Captain Le Bourgeois

For the Blues, Michael Le Bourgeois returns to familiar ground as he slots back into inside centre and also takes the captain’s armband as Alex Day is unavailable on paternity leave.

The only other absentee from the trip to Merseyside is Joel Matavesi who returns to Franklins Gardens, with Jamie Elliott coming in to replace him, while Jake Garside gets a rare start in place of Day at scrum half.

James Fish, Alex Woolford and Joe Howard have all recovered from injuries to make the substitutes bench, although Jordan Onojaife and prop, Bryan O’Connor are still out.

Tickets are still available for the clash here, while there are still spaces on the Bedford Rugby Follower’s Association coach at a cost of just £10 per seat.

Bedford Blues Starting XV:

15. Matt Worley, 14. Sean French, 13. Jamie Elliott, 12. Michael Le Bourgeois (C), 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Will Maisey, 9. Jake Garside; 1. Jamie Jack, 2. Jacob Fields, 3. Oisin Heffernan, 4. Robin Williams, 5. Tom Lockett, 6. Luke Frost, 7. Jac Arthur, 8. Cameron King

Bedford Blues Replacements:

16. James Fish, 17. Joey Conway, 18. Ed Prowse, 19. Alex Woolford, 20. Joe Howard, 21. Kieran Curran, 22. James Lennon, 23. Louis Grimoldby

Keep Local news Alive in Bedfordshire