Sporting talent on show at Bedford Sports Awards

Brickhill School picked up the award for Bedford Sports School 2019. Image: Mandy Alison/Twitter

Monday night (9 Dec) saw the very best of Bedford’s sporting talent in one room with the town’s 24th annual Bedford Sports Awards held at the Corn Exchange.

There were a mighty 39 different sports from across the Borough represented, from regular favourites of football and rugby all the way through to the likes of dragon boat racing, Brazilian jujitsu and even speed skipping, proving that whatever your tastes, there really is a sport for everyone.

Supplemented by a Q&A by world-renowned tennis umpire James Keothavong, a 21-year veteran of the professional game including multiple Grand Slam Finals and resident of Bedfordshire, the evening was a great success and proved that the talent and potential in Bedford continues to thrive.

The highlights of the evening came with the awarding of the Junior and Adult Sports Personalities of the Year; with a list of 27 nominees in the Junior category making the competition tough.

Holly Tutt was the winner of this year’s award, the skiing ace winning a number of titles including three medals at the Ambition International Championships in Austria, a gold medal at the Welsh Alpine Championships as well as the British Schoolgirls Championship.

The adult award went to Tennyson James, capping off what has been a wonderful year for the sprinter; the highlight of which came at the British Masters Indoor Championships as he won gold and set a new British age group record in the process.

Tennyson went on to claim an international title in the 100m hurdles at the European Masters in Venice, and is now the 2019 European Champion.

It was not just individuals who were up for awards, with a multitude of accolades available to win amongst community groups and clubs.

Bedford Hockey Club winning Sports Club of the Year, earning a whopping seven promotions amongst their teams in what has been a successful 125th anniversary for the Chester Road based outfit.

Volunteers were also recognised with Nikki Woodworth claiming the Outstanding Volunteer Award for her tireless work at Falcons Gymnastics Club.

Sophie Beckett picking up the Young Volunteer of the Year award for her multi-role effort in the youth leagues of netball in Bedford.

Congratulations to all of the award winners, the full list of which is as follows:

  • Sports Club of the Year: Bedford Hockey Club
  • Community Club/Group of the Year: Bedford & District Netball League
  • Sporting School of the Year: Brickhill Primary School
  • Junior Sports Personality of the Year: Holly Tutt
    (with special commendation given to Maddie Axford and Ruby Iserliss)
  • Young Volunteer of the Year: Sophie Beckett
  • Sports Team of the Year: Bedford Rowing Club Juniors
  • Sports Administrator / Outstanding Volunteer Award: Nikki Woodworth
  • Sports Coach of the Year: Richard Darwin
  • Disability Sports Award: Dermot Bailey
  • Adult Sports Personality of the Year: Tennyson James
    (with special commendation given to Ellis Haggith)
  • Outstanding Achiever of the Year: Jonathan Katz

Now more than ever, we need your help to fund the Bedford Independent’s quality journalism that serves our community...

We choose to champion editorial independence, meaning we report the facts without bias and can stand up to those in power when we believe it’s needed.

We can give a voice to people in our community whose voices may otherwise not be heard. And we don’t have a paywall, so everyone can read the stories we publish for free.

But in this time of crisis, many news organisations all over the world are facing existential threat, with advertising revenues plummeting. We’re no different.

We work hard every day to bring you news, commentary, entertainment and announcements from across Bedford. We hope that, with your help, we’ll be able to continue this for many years to come.

Will you help sustain our work today by clicking below ? Even a small donation makes a difference for our future.

Thank you for your support.