Blues change up for tough Ealing test in capital city

Image: Bedford Blues

Mike Rayer has named his squad as Bedford Blues go in search of a first away victory at Ealing Trailfinders since October 2015 this Saturday.

Following a third successive home victory against Coventry last weekend, Blues head to Trailfinders Sports Ground in a confident mood, although will be expecting a tough test from Ben Ward’s charges who currently sit second in the Championship table; the position they’ve finished for the past two seasons.

Director of Rugby, Rayer, has made seven changes for the trip to the capital, including handing Pat Tapley his first start since Boxing Day. Tapley’s inclusion is one of two changes to the backs as Lewis Robling comes into the starting side for the first time since November.

Elsewhere in the back division there is a slight shuffle with Sam Leeming moving to fly-half as Will Hooley misses out with concussion.

There are five changes in the forwards as Robbie Smith and Henry Paul return to form a familiar looking front row with captain Sean McCarthy. The remaining changes see Ed Taylor, Oli Curry and Huw Worthington come back into the side as Bedford look to continue their inspired 2020 form.

Among the replacements, the Blues are bolstered by two dual-registered players from Northampton Saints as Fraser Strachan returns and Connor Tupai – son of Blues legend Paul – arrives for a potential debut having grown up at the club.

Starting XV:
15                           Rich Lane
14                           Ryan Hutler
13                           Oskar Hirskyj-Douglas
12                           Lewis Robling
11                           Pat Tapley
10                           Sam Leeming
9                             James Lennon

1                             Sean McCarthy (C)
2                             Robbie Smith
3                             Henry Paul
4                             Jordan Onojaife
5                             Ed Taylor
6                             Oli Curry
7                             Josh Buggea
8                             Huw Worthington

16                           Charlie Clare
17                           Joe Wrafter
18                           Andrew Boye
19                           Will Carrick Smith
20                           Joe Atkinson
21                           Connor Tupai
22                           Fraser Strachan
23                           Matt Worley

Words by Ryan Robinson

Contribution Orange new email

Now more than ever, we need your help to fund the Bedford Independent’s quality journalism that serves our community...

We choose to champion editorial independence, meaning we report the facts without bias and can stand up to those in power when we believe it’s needed.

We can give a voice to people in our community whose voices may otherwise not be heard. And we don’t have a paywall, so everyone can read the stories we publish for free.

But in this time of crisis, many news organisations all over the world are facing existential threat, with advertising revenues plummeting. We’re no different.

We work hard every day to bring you news, commentary, entertainment and announcements from across Bedford. We hope that, with your help, we’ll be able to continue this for many years to come.

Will you help sustain our work today by clicking below ? Even a small donation makes a difference for our future.

Thank you for your support.