Bedford Blues welcome Hartpury to Goldington Road

Image: Bedford Blues

Bedford Blues have named their 23-man squad to face Hartpury this Saturday in the opening home fixture of the decade, looking for back-to-back wins for the first time this season.

The first meeting between the teams of this campaign sees Blues looking to back up the win over London Scottish last time out with another impressive display in front of the Goldington Road faithful.

Director of Rugby, Mike Rayer, has made four changes from the win in Richmond with Grayson Hart slotting back in at scrum-half as dual-registered Alex Day returns to Saracens.

In the pack, Alex Penny makes his first league start of the season following his long injury lay-off at tighthead prop. While there are also inclusions for hooker Robbie Smith and second row Oli Curry in the starting line-up.

Among the replacements, supporters will spot a return for fan favourite Charlie Clare. The hooker joins on a short-term loan deal from Leicester Tigers.

Optimis Rugby Banner

Starting XV:  
15     Pete Lydon
14     Ryan Hutler
13     Rich Lane
12     Oskar Hirskyj-Douglas
11     Dean Adamson
10     Will Hooley
9       Grayson Hart

1       Sean McCarthy (C)
2       Robbie Smith
3       Alex Penny
4       Jordan Onojaife
5       Oli Curry
6       Dan Temm
7       Joe Atkinson
8       Alafoti Fa’osiliva

16     Charlie Clare
17     Joe Wrafter
18     Henry Paul
19     Ed Taylor
20     Josh Buggea
21     James Lennon
22     Sam Leeming
23     Matt Worley

Words by Ryan Robinson