Quick exit from FA Cup for Bedford Town FC

Eagles President Frank Farmer and Secretary James Smiles with the Emirates FA Cup
Eagles President Frank Farmer and Secretary James Smiles with the Emirates FA Cup

Bedford Town 0 – 1 Deeping Rangers

The Emirates FA Cup came to town on Saturday as the Eagles entered and exited the competition at the preliminary round.

A single goal from a determined Deeping Rangers meant it’ll be its only visit to the Bright Management Eyrie Stadium this season.

After Tuesday’s loss in the League the management made changes in the team, Gavin Hoyte and Damien Green were back in defence and Nathan Olukanmi and Tre Mitford were also given their first starts of the season.

With temperatures approaching 30 degrees the teams kicked off and shared chances in the first period of play.

Bedford’s first meaningful chance came after the first half drink break when Deeping Keeper Lewis Elsom came out of his goal and fluffed a kick.

Bedford were unable to immediately capitalise, but with Elsom now back in goal Mitford blasted a shot which came of the underside of the bar, before Connor Tomlinson had an attempt blocked.

Louis Hall v Deeping Rangers
Louis Hall

Ebby Nelson-Addy and Ben Ford had chances go wide of the post, while Mitford had a last minute effort saved.

At the other end Arron Dillon was called to save chances but neither side were to find the elusive goal in the first half.

After the break Deeping were the first with a chance when they took advantage of some poor Bedford play.

Dillon was able to stop Jordan MacCleod’s shot with his legs, while Charlie Coulsdon had his shot blocked.

The visitors were now getting more chances in the game, Dillon was forced to make a save from Dan Jarvis, while corners were defended.

Connor Tomlinson had a chance for the Eagles when he latched onto a Dillon clearence, he sidestepped his marker and fired from an angle, but his shot was too high.

Tomlinson has another chance when he met an Olukamni corner, but his sliding shot was palmed away by Elsom.

Elsom in Deeping Rangers' goal saves an Eagles shot
Elsom in Deeping Rangers’ goal saves an Eagles shot

Bedford were first to make a change, bringing on Callum Donnelly to replace Olukanmi.

Shortly after the decisive moment of the game came. Nelson-Addy went down in the Deeping penalty area, but play was waved on.

The visitors launched the ball forward to Jordan MacCleod who ran onto it and beat Dillon with a low shot from the edge of the area. (61′ BT 0 – 1 DR)

With Bedford a goal down and less than thirty minutes remaining, they were forced to go more offensive.

Dan Walker had a shot as he received the ball on the left, evaded two players and fired from twenty yards, the effort clearing the bar.

Manny Soetan, making his first competitive appearance for the Eagles and Abraham Eze were brought on to give the home side more attacking options, replacing Nelson-Addy and Tomlinson. The visitors also making two changes

Bedford battled for an equaliser, Walker put on a good cross to Soetan in the final minutes of the game, but his header went over the bar.

Eze had the final attempt, but his shot also cleared the crossbar.

With their FA Cup exit, attention now goes back to the league for another tough fixture as Corby Town visit the Bright Management Eyrie on Bank Holiday Monday.

The same fixture last year resulted in a goalless draw. This season Corby sit in 7th place in the table with one win and a draw, while Bedford are in 11th with a win and a loss.

With two losses on the trot, the Eagles will be looking to bounce back in this match and some local and vocal home support would help the cause.

Kick off at the Bright Management Eyrie on Monday 26th August is at 3pm.

Bedford Town lineup:

  1. Aaron Dillon
  2. Cade Stevens-Abbey
  3. Louis Hall
  4. Ben Ford
  5. Gavin Hoyte ( C )
  6. Damien Green
  7. Nathan Olukamni (➡ 12)
  8. Ebby Nelson-Addy (➡ 16)
  9. Tre Mitford
  10. Connor Tomlinson (➡ 16)
  11. Dan Walker

Substitutes: Callum Donnelly (➡ 5), Scott Joseph, Derek Ubah, Abraham Eze (➡10), Manny Soetan (➡ 8), Drew Phillips, Rafe Goodman

Words: Michael Jarman-Webb
Photos: Jane Jones