Blues name squad in search of first Castle Park victory in over a decade

Bedford Blues host Doncaster Knights in the Championship Cup at Goldington Road in February 2023
Image: FennellTakesFotos / Twitter

It’s been another long wait for the Bedford Blues squad to get back on to the pitch as Mike Rayer’s side travel to South Yorkshire to face Doncaster Knights at Castle Park; a venue that has not been one of the Blues’ best hunting grounds in recent years.

Bedford’s last victory at the venue was way back in 2012 but after nineteen days away from competitive action, they will be hoping to break that spell by regaining winning ways after a New Years Day defeat to Coventry at Goldington Road.

The Knights also lost their last game, against the Blues’ Bedfordshire rivals, Ampthill and both sides will be keen to kick start their 2024 seasons as they look to work their way up the Championship table.

Mike Rayer makes four changes to the starting line up that lost out to Coventry, with two changes made to the back line and two in the pack.

Le Bourgeois takes 15 jersey

Jamie Jack and Bryan O’Connor come in to the prop positions while Craig Wright due to make an appearance of the bench after England Under 20’s action while Jamie Elliott returns to the thirteen jersey after another injury lay off.

Joel Matavesi returns alongside Elliott for his first appearance in Blues colours this season while Le Bourgeois reverts to full back with Matt Worley on the bench.

There was an average of almost 70 points per game in the four occasions these two sides met in league and cup last season, so the likelihood of another high-scoring encounter looks promising.

You can still buy tickets for the game here.

Bedford Blues Starting XV:

15. Michael Le Bourgeois, 14. Sean French, 13. Jamie Elliott, 12. Joel Matavesi, 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Will Maisey, 9. Alex Day (C); 1. Jamie Jack, 2. James Fish, 3. Bryan O’Connor, 4. Tom Lockett, 5. Alex Woolford, 6. Luke Frost, 7. Joe Howard, 8. Cameron King

Bedford Blues Replacements:   

16. Craig Wright, 17. Joey Conway, 18. Oisin Heffernan, 19. Robin Williams, 20. Kieran Curran, 21. James Lennon, 22. Louis Grimoldby, 23. Matt Worley