Blues gear up for Ladies Day clash with local rivals Ampthill

Bedford Blues generic holding card

Bedford Blues will be turning pink on Saturday afternoon as they face near neighbours Ampthill in the third pool game of the Championship Cup which is also the annual Ladies Day fixture.

While the Blues have slipped to two defeats out of two in the cup competition so far this season, the ‘Battle of Bedfordshire’ fixture against Mark Lavery and Paul Turner’s men provides an ample opportunity to get back on track.

As has become tradition, the Blues will be turning pink for the day to raise funds for Macmillan and Breast Cancer.

Ladies will get ‘Buy One Get One Free’ match day entry when they purchase their tickets on the gate and then be able to enjoy a complimentary glass of rose, thanks to The Eagle Brewery, from either the Blues Mini Trailer Bar or the new Coffee & Cake Horsebox, kindly supported by Carter Sullivan.

In the Blues Marquee, spectators will find a whole host of additional treats with Beauty Treatments courtesy of 5th Avenue Hair and Beauty, Cakes from Crumbs, Blind Bear Wine and Gin Bar, plus the wonderful singer, Sophia Soul and MC Sam Roberts sharing the mic.

There is also the chance for fans to get their hands on some exclusive prizes through the Blues auction and raffle, run by Macmillan volunteers.

On top of all that there will be many fundraising games, a best-dressed lady competition and live Ladies Day shirt auction in the Marquee from 6pm.

Bedford make four changes for the local derby with Charlie Reed starting on the wing while Henry Paul, Will Carrick Smith and Josh Buggea come in to strengthen the pack.

The Blues have been able to bring in some assistance on the bench with hooker Ewan Kingdon coming in from Bury St Edmunds while Fraser Strachan returns from Northampton Saints.

Starting Line-Up:
15. Rich Lane
14. Charlie Reed
13. Matt Worley
12. Lewis Robling
11. Ryan Hutler
10. Ed Coulson
9. Grayson Hart
1. Sean McCarthy (c)
2. Robbie Smith
3. Henry Paul
4. Will Carrick Smith
5. Jordan Onojaife
6. Dan Temm
7. Josh Buggea
8. Huw Worthington
16. Ewan Kingdon
17. Joe Wrafter
18. Andrew Boye
19. Ed Taylor
20. Joe Atkinson
21. James Lennon
22. Fraser Strachan

23. Pat Tapley

Words: Simon Hutchinson

Now more than ever, we need your help to fund the Bedford Independent’s quality journalism that serves our community...

We choose to champion editorial independence, meaning we report the facts without bias and can stand up to those in power when we believe it’s needed.

We can give a voice to people in our community whose voices may otherwise not be heard. And we don’t have a paywall, so everyone can read the stories we publish for free.

But in this time of crisis, many news organisations all over the world are facing existential threat, with advertising revenues plummeting. We’re no different.

We work hard every day to bring you news, commentary, entertainment and announcements from across Bedford. We hope that, with your help, we’ll be able to continue this for many years to come.

Will you help sustain our work today by clicking below ? Even a small donation makes a difference for our future.

Thank you for your support.