Blues cup campaign begins at Lady Bay against Nottingham

Bedford Blues have now beaten Nottingham four times this season. (Image: Bedford Blues)

After a solid fifth place finish in the Greene King IPA Championship, attentions for the Blues turn to Lady Bay where Mike Rayer’s side face Nottingham in the first round of the Championship Cup.

Bedford have already notched two victories over their Midlands rivals; a 40-9 victory on a freezing November day backed up with an impressive 47-22 win at the end of February and they will hoping to add to that on Friday night.

One man who has enjoyed this particular fixture is Dean Adamson having already scored seven tries against Craig Hammond’s team this season in two separate man-of-the-match performances.

He is looking to reach 100 tries for Bedford Blues before the season is out, with the Blues eager to go after a three-week rest as the Championship season concluded.

Ealing Trailfinders were the winners of a wonderful league campaign, and automatically qualify for the quarter finals of the Cup, with Bedford or Nottingham drawn against one of the sides to have the best losing aggregate score in the next round.

First however, they need to once more find a way past a Nottingham side who lost four on the bounce at the conclusion of their league season, finishing in tenth place.

Lane still absent as Rayer changes four

Mike Rayer, in his 501st game in charge, makes four changes to the London Scottish victory, with two changes to the backs division and two changes to the pack.

Hooker Reece Marshall and Tui Uri come into the pack, while the impressive Tom Litchfield coming in at inside centre alongside Louis Grimoldby in the number ten jersey.

Regular captain Rich Lane is still on loan at Premiership side Bristol Bears, so Joe Atkinson takes the armband once more as he hopes to mastermind a successful cup campaign.

The return leg is at Goldington Road on Saturday 23rd April, with tickets available to buy here.

Bedford Blues Starting XV:

15. Matt Worley, 14. Pat Tapley, 13. Jamie Elliott, 12. Tom Litchfield, 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Louis Grimoldby, 9. Alex Day; 1. Joey Conway, 2. Reece Marshall, 3. Osman Dimen, 4. Jordan Onojaife, 5. Alex Woolford, 6. Bailey Ransom, 7. Joe Atkinson (C), 8. Tui Uru

Bedford Blues Replacements:

16. Jacob Fields, 17. Leroy O’Neil, 18. Corrie Barrett, 19. Robin Williams, 20. Oli Stedman, 21. Jack Hughes, 22. Jake Garside, 23. Will Maisey

Now more than ever, we need your help to fund the Bedford Independent’s quality journalism that serves our community...

We choose to champion editorial independence, meaning we report the facts without bias and can stand up to those in power when we believe it’s needed.

We can give a voice to people in our community whose voices may otherwise not be heard. And we don’t have a paywall, so everyone can read the stories we publish for free.

But in this time of crisis, many news organisations all over the world are facing existential threat, with advertising revenues plummeting. We’re no different.

We work hard every day to bring you news, commentary, entertainment and announcements from across Bedford. We hope that, with your help, we’ll be able to continue this for many years to come.

Will you help sustain our work today by clicking below ? Even a small donation makes a difference for our future.

Thank you for your support.