All change for Merseyside as Mike Rayer names Blues squad for Caldy

Seán French has six tries for the campaign Image: Claire Jones / Bedford Blues
Seán French has ten tries for the campaign Image: Claire Jones / Bedford Blues

After back-to-back Championship half centuries for Bedford Blues, Mike Rayer has rung the changes for their latest Championship fixture against a dangerous Caldy side in Merseyside.

Last season’s Championship new boys won this fixture last year in what was one of the results of the campaign and the Blues will be wary of the Merseysiders’ dangers as they look to work their way up the Championship table.

Read: In-form Caldy steal last gasp victory against Bedford Blues

Nine changes

There are a host of new names for the Blues following their 59-19 crushing of Cambridge at Goldington Road last week, but the Championship’s leading try scorer, Seán French is one of those who keeps his place alongside Dean Adamson who moves back to his familiar spot on the left wing.

Archie McParland gains his first start for the Blues at scrum half while Tom Lockett and Henry Pollock also make debuts as part of five alterations to the pack.

Matt Worley also returns hoping to bring some magic to the full back position and there is also a return for Kayde Sylvester; the former Bedford School student taking up his position on the substitute’s bench.

A repeat result of the cup game at Goldington Road at the beginning of the season will see Bedford Blues fourth consecutive victory in the league and represent a solid start to the league campaign with a tricky run of fixtures in Nottingham, Ampthill and Coventry on New Years Day to come.

This game also represents the first occasion that travelling fans can capitalise on Friends of the Blues’ and Bedford Rugby Followers Association’s £10 offer for a place on the coach to Paton Field.

Find out how to get a place on the coach for future fixtures here.

Bedford Blues Starting XV:

15. Matt Worley, 14. Sean French, 13. Jordan Venter, 12. Michael Le Bourgeois, 11. Dean Adamson, 10. Will Maisey, 9. Archie McParland; 1. Joey Conway, 2. James Fish (C), 3. Oisin Heffernan, 4. Robin Williams, 5. Tom Lockett, 6. Joe Howard, 7. Henry Pollock, 8. Cameron King

Bedford Blues Replacements:

16. Craig Wright, 17. Jamie Jack, 18. Bryan O’Connor, 19. Jordan Onojaife, 20. Kayde Sylvester, 21. Kieran Curran, 22. Alex Day, 23. Louis Grimoldby

Keep Local news Alive in Bedfordshire